College of





of British Columbia

Announcement of New Board Members

December 11, 2018

The College is pleased to announce the election of three new members to its Board of Directors, Ms. Rachel Ling, Ms. Beverly Osachoff and Mr. Shawn-Poppi Sabhaney.

The Board of Directors provides leadership for carrying out the College’s mission, which is to serve and protect the public interest by regulating and advancing safe, ethical and quality traditional Chinese medicine practice in British Columbia. These new members, elected from among College registrants, will provide great insight and depth to the work of the College over the next three years, alongside the other three registrant and six publicly appointed Board members.

Rachel Ling

Rachel LingRegistration Number: 04990

Registration Title: R.TCM.P.

City of Residence: Richmond, District 1 - Lower Mainland

Education: R.TCM.P., B.Sc.

Employment: Instructor, Vancouver Beijing College of Chinese Medicine

College Involvement: N/A

Candidate Statement

Born in China, I am a R.TCM.P, science graduate from McGill University, currently an instructor in Vancouver Beijing College of Chinese Medicine. An active volunteer for many community programs, I have helped in BC Children's Hospital fundraising, Montreal General Hospital, Montreal Chest institute, Community Wellness clinic, and NGO project in Ghana. Received distinction for service performance from former senator. recently I hold bilingual TCM webinars to help English-speaking population to gain awareness of TCM. This August, I was a part of the 4th American TCM congress organizing committee to hold the event successfully in Seattle. With my Chinese and Western culture background, I will actively support BC through TCM.

Beverly Gail Osachoff

Beverly OsachoffRegistration Number: 02226

Registration Title: R.TCM.P.

City of Residence: Grand Forks, District 2 - Outside the Lower Mainland

Education: B.Sc., Dr. TCM

Employment: Owner, Boundary Acupuncture and Pain Clinic

College Involvement: Focus Group Participant - Scope of Practice, 2010 - 2011

Candidate Statement

I have enjoyed the privilege of serving on the Boards of the TCMABC, the Transitional Board and the ATCMA. My colleagues and I donated many hours working toward uniting our profession. I'm very aware of the diversity of our needs and talents as well as the challenges we face as small business operators and medical professionals in a rapidly evolving marketplace. I've been a strong voice for BC's rural registrants. Now I'd like your support to turn my attention to the public so I can advocate effectively for all of us.

Shawn-Poppi Suresh Hans Sabhaney

Shawn-Poppi Sueesh Hans SabhaneyRegistration Number: 02808

Registration Title: R.Ac.

City of Residence: Surrey, District 1 - Lower Mainland

Education: DTCM, BSSc, BComm

Employment: Owner, The Neural Clinic

College Involvement: N/A

Candidate Statement

Poppi received his Bachelor of Social Sciences and Bachelors of Commerce, then graduated from the Doctorate of TCM program at the ITCMCV and has been a practicing Registered Acupuncturist under the CTCMA for ten years and has a PTSD and trauma practice in White Rock. Poppi was the last past president of the TCMABC, and helped the QATCMA and TCMABC merge into the ATCMA. Poppi stayed on the new board as the Public relations officer for a year and board adviser until 2015. Poppi looks forward to using his knowledge and past association board experience to help advocate competency, ethical practices and forward thinking industry practices for the TCM community.

The official results of the election may be viewed on Simply Voting's website.

“As we look ahead, we can see that Ms. Ling, Ms. Osachoff and Mr. Sabhaney will be outstanding additions to our Board. Each is committed to serving the public interest and has been an active practitioner for many years. We are excited about the expertise and viewpoints they bring as we continue to lead the College forward.” says Jonathan Ho, Registrar and CEO.

The College's full slate of Directors for the coming year is:

  • Dr. Peter Stevenson-Moore, Chair
  • Dr. Weijia Tan, Vice-Chair
  • Ms. Joelle Berry
  • Mr. Guo Ding
  • Dr. Kimberley Graham
  • Mr. Oleh Ilnyckyj
  • Ms. Rachel Ling
  • Mr. Edwin Liu
  • Ms. Beverly Osachoff
  • Mr. Shawn-Poppi Sabhaney
  • Ms. Jocelyn Stanton
  • Dr. Weidong Yu

At this time, we’d like to thank outgoing Board members Dr. Ben Bao Qi Cao, Dr. John Yung Chou Lee and Mr. Joseph Ranallo for their dedicated service. Board members come from all areas of our profession, working as a team to make sound policy and governance decisions in the public interest, steering College operations and ensuring fiscal responsibility. The Board is accountable to the public through the Ministry of Health.